T20 World Cup Champion: England beat Pakistan by 5 wickets becomes T20 World Cup champion for the second time

T20 World Cup Champion England has won the T20 World Cup title for the second time by defeating Pakistan. England beat Pakistan by 5 wickets in the match played at MCG.

England defeated Pakistan by 5 wickets in the final match played at Melbourne’s historic ground. England had a target of 138 runs which they achieved at the loss of 5 wickets in 19 overs. Ben Stokes was the hero of England’s victory, scoring 52 runs and not getting out till the end. Apart from Stokes, Jos Buttler played an inning of 26 runs.

Earlier, batting first after losing the toss, Pakistan team scored 137 runs for the loss of 8 wickets. Shan Masood played the highest innings of 38 runs for Pakistan. Apart from him Babar Azam played an innings of 32 runs. For England, Sam Curran broke the back of Pakistan’s batting by taking 3 wickets. 

Draw with West Indies

With this victory, England has won the T20 World Cup title twice and has equaled West Indies in this matter. Earlier, England won the T20 World Cup title for the first time in 2010 by defeating Australia by 7 wickets under the captaincy of Paul Collingwood. This World Cup was held in the West Indies. It became the first non-Asian team to do so.

West Indies is two time champion

Earlier this feat was done only by the West Indies. The West Indies team had won this trophy in 2012 and 2016. In this World Cup held in Sri Lanka, West Indies defeated the host nation by 36 runs. In 2016, West Indies became the champion again and defeated the England team in the final. This World Cup was held in India. 

Related posts

Nathan Lyon breaks Muttiah Muralitharan's record, became the first bowler to take 100 Test wickets against India

TAS Staff

IND vs AUS 2nd T20I Weather Report: How the weather will be during the match and what the pitch report says

TAS Staff

IND vs BAN ODI: Rohit Sharma hits 5 six with bandage in his hand but could not win the match, fans shared emotional tweets

TAS Staff

IPL Auction 2023: From Dhoni to Kohli, these are the top 10 highest earning players in IPL history

TAS Staff

IND vs SL: check out the full list of Team India squad for Sri Lanka T20I and ODI series

TAS Staff

T20WC 2022: two&times champs west Indies knock out of T20 World Cup to reach super 12

TAS Staff

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More