Namibia beat Sri Lanka by 55 runs, all&rounders turn the dice

The biggest upset happened in the very first match of the T20 World Cup. In the qualifying match on Sunday, Namibia defeated a legendary team like Sri Lanka by 55 runs. Namibia had given a target of 164.

The entire Sri Lankan team was bundled out for 108 runs. Namibian all-rounders turned the dice of the match. Jan Frylinck and JJ Smit put on a partnership of 69 runs. Both also took three important Sri Lankan wickets on important occasions. 

The hero of this victory was Jane Frylink. He performed with both bat and ball. Frylink, 28, first scored 44 runs. Then also took two important wickets. Apart from them, David Wiese, Bernard Scholtz and Ben Shikongo also got two wickets each. Frylinck was adjudged Player of the Match. 

Sri Lanka’s wickets fell like this

First:  In the fourth ball of the second over, on the team score of 12, Kushal Mendis (6) was caught by David Wiese to Keeper Green.

Second: The team score reached 21 runs that Ben Shikongo got Pathum Nisanka (9) caught by Smit.

Third: Danushka Gunathilaka returned to the pavilion without opening an account on 21 runs. Taking a lighter edge, Shikongo’s ball reached Green’s gloves behind the wicket. 

Fourth: In the third ball of 6.3 overs, Dhananjay de Silva (12) was caught by Frylinck to Shikongo.

Fifth: Rajapaksa fell victim to Scholtz in the 11th over. He was caught by Scholtz by Cook. There was a useful partnership of 34 runs between the two.

Sixth: Hasranga also could not play a big innings. He got out after scoring 4 runs. He was caught by Scholtz Lingen.

Seventh:  Sri Lanka’s last hope captain Dasun Shanaka (29) was dismissed behind the wicket by Jan Frylinck.

Eighth: Pramod Madushan was dismissed for zero in 14.2 overs. He was run out by Lingen and Green.

Ninth: Chamika Karunaratne (5) is caught by Smit by the bard.

Tenth: The last wicket of the team fell in the form of Dushmantha Chameera. He was caught by Vise in the hands of Captain Erasmus. 

Sri Lanka and Namibia Playing-11

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kushal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Vanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Dushmantha Chameera, Pramod Madushan.

Namibia: Stephen Bard, Michael van Lingen, Divan la Cock, Jan Nicole Lofty-Eaton, Gerhard Merwe Erasmus (captain), Jan Frylinck, David Wiese, Jane Green, JJ Smit, Bernard Scholtz, Ben Shikongo. 

Related posts

IND W vs ENG W: Harmanpreet Kaur said something special about Lord's ODI, Jhulan will enter the field for the last time

TAS Staff

IND vs AUS T20: Rohit explains why Umesh Yadav was included in place of Shami

TAS Staff

SL vs PAK Head to Head: Sri Lanka has a huge advantage in T20Is, what the figures say in the Asia Cup

TAS Staff

Asia Cup 2022: Former Pakistan cricketer Rashid Latif said & Indian young players are following MS Dhoni

TAS Staff

Pakistani actress promises to marry Zimbabwean boy if India beats India in T20 World Cup

TAS Staff

BCCI Election: A historic decision of Roger Binny to become BCCI President

TAS Staff

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More